Destruments – Surpassing All Others


01 You Better Know
02 You Got Tt ft. The Day Laborers
03 Deadly Fang ft. Alucard, IDE, Killed Priest (Sunz of Man/ Wu Tang Clan )
04 The ZeeOheNee ft. Othello, Jermiside
05 Got Love ft. Tron 7, Seize, T Truth
06 Skin Deep
07 That Fire ft. CF
08 Nightwatchin’ ft. Need Not Worry
09 Fly away ft. Respect Tha God, Sweet T
10 Transworld Express ft. Jise
11 And Beyond…
12 The Set-Up ft. IDE
13 Another Caliber ft. Has Lo
14 Forever Mine ft. Quite Nyce
15 Reflection ft. Ammbush
16 I last sunset
17 Free Form ft. Nems, I Am Many, Swave Sevah, CF

$12.99 $10.00

Share This:

Destruments – Surpassing All Others

Over a dozen talented MC’s, genre blending beats and an overall refreshing sound.  Listeners will find themselves reminising about the good old days and look forward to what’s next in HIP HOP. All these characteristics make up the foundation to Destruments new album “SURPASSING ALL OTHERS”.

While people want to put a tag or a classification on any group or band, listeners have always had a hard time labeling Destruments because of the way they easily weave between jazz, funk, soul and HIP HOP. While past records have had extreme examples of this, “SURPASSING ALL OTHERS” is deeply rooted in HIP HOP and never strays away from the music that made Destruments fall in love with all other genres that influence their sound.

Hip Hop

It’s hard not to feel a heavy vibration come out the speaker with constant skull snaps and a diverse line up of MC’s from coast to coast. From the East you have spitters like Killah Priest (Wu tang Clan – Sunz Of Man, Jise (Arsonists), Quite Nyce, Swave Sevah, IDE, Alucard, Nems, The Day Laborers, Has-Lo, CF and Respect the God. The left coast is repped by ceremonial masters like Othello, Ammbush and Tron 7 while Jermiside holds it down for the south and mid-west!

Live Instrumentation

A consistent flow of energy is all around because this record has a natural balance of live instrumentation, sampling, inspired musicianship and creativity that is missing from most albums! The majority of music on “SURPASSING ALL OTHERS” is written produced and put together by Kelly Finnigan (Monophonics) and Sean Willson. As all humble artists’ do they were quick to bring in outside help from talented people like J2, Jared Brown, ISM and the head of Creative Juices Music IDE.

Back To The Roots

Here is an album that brings Destruments back to its roots which is HIP HOP. Reminding people once again why a music once considered a fad has proven time and time again to set standards and trends in music and pop culture. Finally showing that Destrtuments is as versatile as any group out today and has surpassed any and all expectations!

Weight .4375 lbs
Dimensions .5 × .5 × .0833 in

1 review for Destruments – Surpassing All Others

  1. Erin Duncan

    The duo Destruments have been making huge strides musically releasing six albums in seven years. For most, this would be an over saturation; however, if you are putting out as much quality music as Kelly Finnigan and Sean Wilson have, sometimes quality and quantity fit hand in hand. The Destruments new album, Surpassing All Others, is a real fitting title since this album definitely does.

    The album begins with the first track, “You Better Know It,” and despite it being a short track – almost working as an interlude before the actual project begins – this track has just a few lyrics and lets listeners know that they had “better know the Destruments.”

    “You Got It,” featuring The Day Laborers, samples Betty Wright’s “Pure Love,” and switches the sample completely. “TheZeeOheNeE,” is a mellow, soulful and jazz infused track featuring emcees Othello and Jermiside and speaks about being in the “zone” which both emcees obviously are. The way the two emcees both incorporate themselves in the chorus is an added bonus with the track.

    “Got Love,” featuring Tron 7 Seize and T Truth, is a song that speaks about love as the title alludes to, and the production of this track – a mesh of jazz and hip-hop – actually makes you feel in love. Another track on the album that follows the love theme would be, “Forever Mine,” featuring emcee Quite Nyce. The song opens with commentary from a movie that says essentially how the guy wants to be in love and have a real relationship. Quite Nyce speaks of monogamy, and how he’s “not afraid no more.”

    “Skin Deep,” which works as an interlude once again, samples Gladys Knight and The Pips and Curtis Mayfield’s classic “The Makings of You.” This serves as a calm and mellow segway into the hard hitting, “The Fire,” featuring emcee CK. Listening to this track, the first thing that crosses your mind is “who is this guy CK?” Not only does he flow nice and effortlessly over the track, but I dig the topics he addresses on this track: Hell, Jesus, Faith, and lyrics like, “See, people burn Bible pages with weed to get high enough to reach God because they can’t read, they blind, deaf and dumb son. Some of us is Helen Keller; so much hell inside it’s killing me like Heltor Skeltor.”

    The last highlight on the album comes from the track “1 Last Sunset,” which is a great track. This song is the epitome of 90’s hip hop and you can easily hear the legendary trio Black Moon rapping over this track with their classic album, Enta Da Stage.

    If you like sampled music with a twist and great hip-hop, this project is a must.

    – Erin Duncan

Add a review